Swissness: entry into force of the new law since January 1st, 2017

swissness_protection_marques

Swissness: entry into force of the new law since January 1st, 2017

swissness

On 21 June 2013, the Swiss Parliament adopted the so-called “Swissness” legislation. The law on trademark protection was amended and the legislation on the Swiss coat of arms revised in full. On 2 September 2015, the implementing regulations for the new rules were agreed by the Federal Council. The new law came into effect on 1 January 2017.

The criteria for use of the term ‘Swiss’ and the Swiss cross have been clarified and they now enjoy stronger protection, with the aim of preserving the added value generated by both elements, which are highly desirable and frequently misused, at both the national and international level.

The key points are as follows:

  • The (Swiss) provenance of natural products (such as plants, mineral water or meat) is defined on the basis of a single criterion, which varies by product (for example, the place where they are harvested for plant products);
  • For foodstuffs, at least 80% of the weight of raw materials must come from Switzerland and the processing that gives them their essential characteristics must also take place in Switzerland;
  • For industrial products, at least 60% of the cost (including R&D costs) must be incurred in Switzerland and the processing that gives them their essential characteristics must also take place in Switzerland;
  • For service companies, the business’s registered office must be located in Switzerland and the company must actually be run from Switzerland;
  • The Swiss cross can only be registered as a trademark for products and services of Swiss origin;
  • The Swiss cross can be used on products that fulfil the criteria indicating that they come from Switzerland; similarly, the cross may be used in relation to services that fulfil the criteria for “Swiss” origin;
  • Use of the Swiss Confederation’s coat of arms by private firms is prohibited without special authorisation.

 

Use of the Swiss Confederation’s coat of arms by private firms is prohibited without special authorisation.

Swissness : entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle loi depuis le 1er janvier 2017

swissness_protection_marques

Swissness : entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle loi depuis le 1er janvier 2017

swissness

Le 21 juin 2013, le Parlement a adopté la législation « Swissness ». La loi sur la protection des marques a été modifiée et celle sur la protection des armoiries publiques totalement révisée. Le 2 septembre 2015, les ordonnances d’exécution de la nouvelle réglementation ont été arrêtées par le Conseil fédéral. L’entrée en vigueur de la nouvelle loi est effective depuis le 1er janvier 2017.

Ainsi, les critères d’utilisation du label suisse et de la croix suisse ont été clarifiés et leur protection a été renforcée dans le but de préserver la plus-value générée par ces indications qui attirent de nombreuses convoitises et sont à l’origine de nombreux abus, tant au niveau national qu’international.

Ce qu’il faut retenir en quelques points :

  • La provenance (Suisse) des produits naturels (plantes, eau minérale, viande…) est définie en fonction d’un seul critère variable selon le produit (par exemple, le lieu de la récolte pour les produits végétaux);
  • Pour les denrées alimentaires, au moins 80% du poids des matières premières doivent provenir de Suisse de même que l’étape de transformation qui confère au produit ses caractéristiques essentielles;
  • Pour les produits industriels, au moins 60% du coût de revient (frais de R&D inclus) doivent être réalisés en Suisse de même que l’étape de transformation qui confère au produit ses caractéristiques essentielles;
  • Pour les sociétés de services, le siège de l’entreprise doit se trouver en Suisse et la société doit être effectivement administrée depuis la Suisse;
  • La croix suisse peut être apposée sur les produits qui remplissent les critères d’indication de provenance suisse de même qu’il est autorisé d’utiliser la croix suisse en relation avec les services qui remplissent les critères d’indication de provenance « suisse »;
  • La croix suisse peut être enregistrée comme élément d’une marque uniquement pour des produits/services de provenance suisse;
  • Interdiction d’utiliser les armoiries de la Confédération par les entreprises privées à moins d’obtenir une autorisation spéciale.

 

Notre cabinet reste à votre entière disposition pour vous assister et vous apporter des précisions complémentaires en lien avec l’application de cette nouvelle loi.

Share on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+